Julio & Michelle


Dear Birth Parent:
Thank you for considering an adoption plan for your child and for clicking on us. Without a doubt, exploring adoption for your child is the most difficult decision anyone can make. We hope that we can be part of your journey and provide support, as well as give you peace with your decision.

About Julio & Michelle

Our story started eight years ago with a blue-eyed Midwestern lady with quick wit, meeting a handsome Peruvian designer on a dating site and that was all she wrote for both of us! The internet is powerful and it brought us together, so now we are hoping to expand our family with the help of the internet again! We got married six years ago in San Francisco and can’t wait to grow our family and make our daughter a Big Sister. We live in Culver City with our 4 year old daughter, Luna, and our 13 year old Yorkie named Swanky. For fun we enjoy heading to the beach to watch the sunset, cruising around on our bikes, hanging our hammock at the park to stare up at the sky, solving a challenging jig saw puzzle together, and making pancakes as a family.

Our Home:

We have a two story, 4 bedroom, Spanish style home located in Culver City with an empty bedroom just waiting for a new addition to the family. We love our big backyard, filled with play equipment, bird feeders & baths, and lots of room to run around and play. Our neighborhood is filled with tree-lined streets, lots of kids riding bikes or scooters, and families walking their dogs.

Our neighborhood is filled with parks to go for a picnic, play soccer, swing, or play on lots of equipment. We find ourselves there almost daily!

Halloween is a very big deal in our neighborhood every year. We have 600+ trick-or-treaters, so it’s one of our favorite holidays. We all dress up and just hang out in front of our house and pass out candy, so we invite several friends over to help out and enjoy the experience!

The 4th of July block parties in our neighborhood are always a blast! Bouncy houses, dunk tanks, water balloon fights, and lots of food get the day kicked off. Our upper back yard deck is where we host lots of friends to enjoy a panoramic view of the various fireworks shows.

Adopting parent descriptions:

Meet Julio: (Written by Michelle)
Raised in Lima, Peru by a single mom, as well as his Aunt. Came to the U.S. at the age of 16 years old and did not speak English. He taught himself the English language by watching TV, which is very impressive. Attended college in San Francisco after winning several scholarships by graduating top of his class in high school. Just an academic rock star!

When I first met him I instantly felt like he is that  guy you want to sit and talk to about anything. His energy is calming and exciting all at the same time. His laugh is loud and contagious and he’ll make you laugh too. The car dancing, well yes, it’s true he has moves. It’s contagious and it’s always entertaining to watch the reaction of cars near by when they see him bust a move. The other side to him is devoted and hardworking, which makes me in awe of him and what he’s overcome and turned into as a man, husband, and now the best Daddy!

Julio’s father wasn’t involved in his life much and passed away when Julio was young, so being a present father and one who is loving, devoted, and teaches our children to have fun and be in the moment is so amazing to watch. Teaching our daughter to speak Spanish to have the advantages of being bilingual as she grows up has been a priority for him as a father. Our daughter joined t-ball, because Julio agreed to be the coach, despite not knowing the first thing about the game. That’s the kind of man and father he is. When he walks in the door at home, he gives us all a hug and a kiss and asks us about our day. Home is complete with Daddy around!

Meet Michelle: (Written by Julio)
She grew up in Kansas, raised by a single mom and a younger brother. Her favorite place to eat is Cracker Barrel and for her last meal she will want their Chicken & Dumplings. I don’t pretend to understand it, I just go with it!

Michelle is a wonderful wife, loving mother, great daughter and a savvy smart businesswoman. I am truly lucky to call her my wife. She is very patient and kind, her Mid-west traits shine bright, plus she knows how to change electrical outlets, fix sprinklers, leaky toilets, which I have no idea how to do! Her Achilles’ heel is IKEA furniture assembling.
She did not have the easiest of upbringings, but this did not deter her from searching for a better future. She is the first person in her family with a college degree, and was one of the youngest directors at multiple companies. At the same time, all of that changed for the better once she became a mother, re-invented herself and became a Realtor in order to be her own boss with a flexible schedule to always be able to take care of our daughter. Creating experiences and opportunities for Luna is her focus as a mom, while teaching her to be kind and compassionate towards others. The thing I love to watch the most is when Michelle (aka Tickle Monster) rolls around on the floor with Luna and they are both laughing so hard they are almost crying! That melts my heart. She is that mom that volunteers for all the school events and will get all dressed up for Halloween and do the parade at school.

Our Family:

One of our favorite things to do is to watch America’s Got Talent, cuddled on the sofa in our PJ's. Spending quality time together cooking, drawing chalk art in front of our house, spending time at the zoo, building sand castles at the beach, or just the simple joys of taking a nap together is perfect for us! We do attend church several times a year. Luna is a funny, compassionate, artistic little girl that's about to start TK in the fall to attend the "big kid" school officially and wants nothing more than to become a big sister!

Our annual trip to Yosemite every May to join some of our closets friends and their families, is our time to reconnect and relax with no cell phone service, lots of hiking, listening to the waterfalls, and sitting by the campfire singing and roasting marshmallows. We get together with our neighbors and have a cookie bake off right before Christmas every year! Our favorites are the crescent moons and the frosted sugar cookies!

Our Thoughts on Parenting:

Parenting isn’t easy, in fact it may be the most difficult thing one can do and to do it right you have to be a superhero!  Our mission in life is to be the best parents and set the best examples we can for our children, to raise them to be amazing human beings. Giving them opportunities, a good education, a solid foundation at home, and the courage and confidence to live and thrive in this world. We are both self employed and make it a priority to spend time with our daughter and expose her to various activities such as ballet & tap classes, gymnastics, swimming lessons, and t-ball. Julio signed up to be the head coach of the t-ball team this spring and it was a blast for all of us. Luna is quite the hitter, but really found that she loves to play in the out field and catch the ball. It's amazing to watch her learn new things and decide what she likes and doesn't like about all these activities.

With much admiration & respect,
Julio, Michelle, and Luna

To learn more about a family,
Call Vista Del Mar

(310) 836-1223 ext 281