Ellen


Hi! I’m Ellen. Thank you for taking the time to learn about me and considering me as the adoptive parent for your child. I’m thrilled that you are taking the time to get to know me and hope that you’ll feel that I can provide the type of future you want for your child. I admire the strength and love it takes to consider an open adoption. Please know that I want you to be a part of your child’s life always. I hope to hear from you and I look forward to sharing my family and my life with you.

About Ellen

I grew up in Florida, and moved to the Dominican Republic with my family when I was eleven where my father worked for a large resort. I moved back to the US for college, and have lived in cities across the country, finally settling in California ten years ago. Moving around so much has exposed me to different languages and cultures, and taught me to love travel and connecting with people. I teach design at a university, and love helping young people grow and evolve towards their dreams. Teaching also gives me job security, and means I have a very flexible schedule and will have lots of time to spend each day with my child. I also look forward to all the adventures we will have together on summer breaks when I will get to be a stay-at-home mom!

My Family:

I spend every Christmas at my parents’ house with my younger sister and brother. We have a great time cooking together, going for walks to feed apples to the neighbor’s horses, watching movies and doing jigsaw puzzles. I can’t wait to share our holiday traditions with my child! In California I am fortunate to live near my aunt, and my many cousins. I see my cousins and their kids at Thanksgiving and Easter, and in summer for our family picnic. Having lived far from family when I was young, it is important to me that my child grow up knowing their cousins, aunts, uncles, and grandparents, and feeling loved and supported by their entire family.

My Home & Community:

I live in Los Osos, CA, a small beach town halfway between Los Angeles and San Francisco. It’s the kind of place where a kid can grow up picking wild blackberries, chasing birds along the lanes, and playing with their friends on the beach. I feel so lucky to live in such a safe and beautiful place where I can walk everywhere, with lots of parks, beaches, and open spaces to explore. I moved here because it matched my hopes for what kind of place my child would grow up in. My neighborhood is diverse, and is home to many families with young children. I have many friends with young children, including some single moms, who are all excited for me to start a family. I know that I will be well-supported with advice, babysitting, playdates, and any help I might need through this community.
My home is a two bedroom attached cottage, with a deck that opens up to the dunes of the adjacent state park. Many birds, including quails, and cottontail rabbits live in the park, and come near the house every morning and evening, and it is so fun to watch them scamper about.

Thoughts on Parenting:

I think life is best experienced with an open heart and am planning to create lots of play time with my child, and to allow my child to blossom into who they truly are. I also cherish family traditions – from nightly dinner to birthdays— and will find time to make part of everyday special. I was raised to value education, and will do the same for my child, spending time each day reading, and doing other activities to expand their mind. My hope for my child is that they will grow up kind, genuine, and with self-respect and confidence. Ever since I was young, I’ve known I wanted a family and to raise a child. I’ve spent a lot of time with my friends’ children -- babysitting for overnights, helping with feedings, and, of course, having lots of fun drawing, playing, and being silly together. I am “Auntie Ellen” for many of my friends’ children, and I look forward to someday being a mom to a child of my own.

Becoming a single mom is a decision I have given much careful thought to. I know that it won't always be easy, but I also know that it will be worth any challenge. I've been around children and young people in some way all my life, including working in a kindergarten, volunteering at a middle-school after school program, volunteering as a "Big Sister" mentor, and now as a university instructor. Across these experiences I find I have great patience, and experience joy in connecting with and watching a young person grow and learn. I also have a very supportive family, and a close network of friends, including other single moms, who will be great mentors to me as I mother my own child.

My Hobbies

I have always loved to travel and have been fortunate to visit Ireland, Spain, France, Switzerland, China, Mexico, and Morocco among other places. Exploring the world and all its beautiful cultures is something I look forward to sharing with my child. I have a small garden with lots of herbs and veggies, and love to cook. As a child some of my favorite memories were making food with my mom, and I can’t wait to do the same with my child, sitting down to eat a grilled cheese or an apple pie we made together. As an artist and designer I love to draw, and my home is filled with art supplies for my child to express him/herself with creatively. On summer vacations I also like to go camping, and I am so excited for showing my child the night sky full of stars, or to pick wildflowers together!

My Promise:

Exploring open adoption is such an act of love on your part. I promise to show the same love and commitment to my child throughout his or her life. My commitment to my child includes my love and guidance as she/he becomes his/her true self, my unlimited patience and support in difficult times, and my full energy towards creating a safe and happy home. I look forward to getting to know you and taking this adventure of a lifetime together.
With respect,
Ellen

To learn more about a family,
Call Vista Del Mar

(310) 836-1223 ext 281