Darek & Analia


Dear birth-mom:

Thank you for taking the time to read our story and for considering us as parents for your child. Take a moment to glimpse into our life:

After each of us (Analia and Darek) survived cancer that left us unable to have children we tried fertility treatments for few years but this was not meant to be either. We finally decided upon adoption and it was one of the greatest things we have ever done. That is how Olivia came to our lives.

About Darek & Analia

We are a happy family of three and hope to grow itto four! We both feel we have more love to give and experiences to share not just with Olivia but also with another child. We live in a modest but very comfortable and cozy house in Southern California in a quiet, family neighborhood with schools andparks nearby. Our house reflects our approach to life: keep things simple, avoid clutter and stay close to each other. We have a spacious yard with a vegetable garden, a deck that is our summer livingroom, and we have a couple of sweet rescue dogs Alma and Bodie.

We're Analia, Darek and Olivia.

We are passionate about travel and we love to explore. We have made it Coast to Coast on a 3-month road trip in our truck; we have visited almost every country in South America, hiking the Inca Trail and visiting Machu Picchu, visiting Galapagos and crossing Patagonia on a train. And sailed around Cape Horn in South America.
When we have only the weekend’s time we love to go to the desert with our friends and their kids and camp under the stars, sharing stories by the campfire.

Our core values as family are respect, honesty, education, hard work and love for each other.

Some additional quick facts:

• On Sundays we Skype/FaceTime with our families in Poland and Argentina
• Our traditional Christmas Eve dinner mixes Polish, Argentine and American dishes and customs.
• We enjoy taking walks with Olivia and dogs in our neighborhood and love visiting the local park – Olivia plays on the swing.
• We love quick getaways to the beach. - Sometimes on Sundays we just pack our bikes with a cart for Olivia and go to see and smell the ocean. It gives us a recharge for the whole week.
• We enjoy being active-  We both play tennis, hike and bike, which give us more time to share together  and challenge each other.

Meet Analia (by Darek)

It took me 35 years and a trip to Argentina to finally meet the woman I would marry. When I first met Analia I was instantly attracted to her smile and candidness. During my last 3 days of my trip in Argentina, we went out every night, getting to know each other. I remember very well that during one of our strolls through the city at night, early during our relationship, I told her that someday she would make a great mother.
Analia is an endless source of hugs and kisses and has blossomed as a mother. She is tireless in her care of Olivia. She has a lot of patience and tenderness and her love is evident in how she takes care of our daughter.

Analia is a very loyal and loving person. She can't stand still and rest because there is always something to do. She has a smile that lights up the room and a vivacious, infectious laughter. She gives me support and encouragement when I need it. Her love is unconditional.

With all her tenderness, Analia is also a very strong and resourceful woman. She grew up in a country where you make the best with what you have and where you do not throw things away. Instead you repair them. She is a fighter and a survivor having gone through cancer at such young age. Analia is not afraid of challenges and follows her dreams. She started her own business in the US only a year after moving here.

Analia was born and raised in Buenos Aires, Argentina. Later on she moved with her parents to Bariloche, Patagonia where she finished her studies in mountain recreation. She moved to the U.S. in 2005 after meeting Darek, she became a US citizen in 2013.

Her parents and two sisters with their families live in Argentina, some in Buenos Aires and some in Bariloche, Patagonia. One of her sisters lives with her family in Detroit. Analia is very close to all her sisters and her parents. Thanks to Skype and FaceTime she can digitally hang out with them on a daily basis.

Analia has 3 nephews and 3 nieces whom she adores. Analia has gone back to visit her family every year since 2005 and took Olivia there for the first time last year to introduce her to the Argentine family.

Analia runs her own business from home, which gives her great flexibility for activities, errands, and for taking care of Olivia. Her business is travel, which gives us both an excuse and opportunity to visit many exciting destinations. It is a family run business and Analia’s sister Cecile works with her from her office in Patagonia. Since we adopted our daughter Olivia, Analia switched to part-time working in the office to be able to enjoy her time with Olivia.

Additional quick facts about Analia:

• Analia loves to do work with her hands and she has enjoyed pottery, candle making and sewing when she has time.
• she likes to garden and loves to feed the birds. Our garden is at times a miniature zoo with squirrels, birds and Alma and Bodie.
• drinks Argentine mate every day
• Listens to Argentine tango radio every day at work
• Her favorite color is turquoise
• she loves reading to Olivia and playing with her and her friends in Spanish

Meet Darek (by Analia)

Darek is a super funny person. He makes me laugh and smile even in the scariest moments! He is the most loyal person I ever met. When I met him in Buenos Aires I never thought that I was going to marry him and that we were going to have such a good & fun life together! But I knew right away that the feelings we had were strong and honest and we had good chemistry already. He asked me if I wanted to have kids the first time we went out together! I thought I was going to scare him by saying YES, but he agreed with me that and was the beginning of our parenthood journey. Darek has been supporting me in challenging times when I got sick and also with the development of my own business that I wouldn't' have been able to run without him. He is my technical support, writer and photographer when we travel. When we traveled to Poland to visit his family I realized that the family values he had learned during his childhood were the same as the ones I learned in Argentina even though we came from two different continents.

Darek helps in the house not only with some projects or repairs but also cooking or cleaning when I am busy at the office. He has so much more love to give to another child since he is already a great Dad. He takes care of Olivia and plays with her as soon as he comes home from work. He is planning on building a tree house next Spring for the kids to play.

As soon as we came back home after Olivia's birth, I already asked Darek about adopting a 2nd child. I already knew that we could grow the family and create great memories in their childhood as we had with our siblings. So going for a 2nd adoption was a natural step for me

Darek was born and raised in Krakow, Poland. He moved to the U.S. in 1987 and after finishing high school here graduated from CSUN in health sciences.  Darek’s dad and stepmom live close by with two younger half brothers. He is close to his Dad and they try to go camping together once a year.

Darek’s mom passed away in 2004 but she is always close by in his thoughts. He also has family in Poland. Darek’s sister, her husband and their daughter live in the old city of Krakow. We often call each other on Skype and we try to go back and visit every 3-4 years.

Darek is a physical therapist and works in an outpatient clinic. He helps people with a variety of orthopedic conditions and helps them rehabilitate after surgeries. He continues to explore different aspects of his job and recently started to specialize in treatments of people with Parkinson’s disease. In 2012 he went back to school to finish his advance physical therapy degree and graduated in 2014 as a Doctor of Physical Therapy.

Some additional facts about Darek:

• Darek enjoys photography, reading, writing, and working   on house projects when inspired.
• he prepares coffee every morning and brings it to me to bed
• he loves to take naps; he says it prolongs his life
• he can’t get enough of Law & Order, even the re-runs
• his favorite authors are John Grisham and Edward Abbey

Meet Olivia

We have adopted Olivia in June 2014. It has been an amazing and emotional experience for all parties involved. We held her in our arms just few hours after she was born after a marathon 18-hour drive across 3 states to the hospital. It was an open adoption and we are still in touch with her birth mom via text/sending her pictures and FaceTime. We were very fortunate and honored that Olivia’s birth mom chose us. We feel that we connected with her since the beginning and met her before the delivery.

Since we both grew up with siblings, we knew soon after adopting Olivia that we would like to have another child. Growing up with siblings has been a big part of our lives and we hope that Olivia can have the same unique experience. We also feel that we still have a lot to give as parents and would love to grow our family.

Olivia has been a joy since the beginning.  She has changed our lives in so many different  and positive ways, teaching us patience, finding joy in simple things and how to be parents.

She is full of life and endless energy exploring all corners of our house. She loves the dogs, the outdoors, water and travel. She is already passionate about books as she enjoys her little library in three languages (English/Spanish/Polish) every day.

She will be a great older sibling!

Our promise:

As parents, we will do our best to:

• Surround the child with love
• Provide safe, secure and healthy home where happy memories will be created
• Provide support and nurture for his/her interests and dreams
• Help him/her develop his/her talents
• Create an open minded learning environment where he/she can explore ideas
• Read to him/her at bedtime
• Continue old family traditions and create new ones
• Foster his/her strong mind and spirit through participation in sports
• Show him/her the beauty of this world through travel, whether on a road trip or to a distant country
• Teach him/her to speak Spanish and Polish.
• Create a strong sense of family by hanging out with aunts, uncles, grandparents and cousins
• Teach him/her about Polish and Argentine culture and customs while being a good American citizen
• Be honest and truthful about the story of how they came to be

To learn more about a family,
Call Vista Del Mar

(310) 836-1223 ext 281